praticien du jeu de peindre
Christian Rattaz (left) with Arno Stern (right), Paris, October 2019

About Christian Rattaz – practitioner of the play of painting

Born in Lausanne in 1980, Christian Rattaz spent his childhood in the countryside of the cantons of Vaud and Valais, his curiosity for the arts in general always burgeoning. At the age of 20, he trained in decorative painting techniques first in Ticino, then in Paris where he obtained a painter-decorator's diploma, as well as a prize, from the Institut Supérieur de Peinture Décorative. Since then, he has been working with gold leaf, pigments and colors to create or restore all kinds of decorations.

In addition to his job as a decorative painter, he paints for himself. He was awarded the “Premio” prize in Florence between 2010 and 2013. Since then he has had the chance to exhibit in Switzerland, but also abroad, in Abu Dhabi and New York.

Since the birth of his children, he became interested in the pleasure children have to paint without any constraint and it is thus quite naturally that he became interested in the “Play of Painting” practised by Arno Stern in Paris. He took his training of practitioner/servant of the “Play of Painting” in 2019 and specially fitted out his premises to offer a space dedicated to this game.

praticien du jeu de peindre
Christian Rattaz (à gauche) avec Arno Stern (à droite), Paris, octobre 2019

Présentation de Christian Rattaz – praticien du jeu de peindre

Né à Lausanne en 1980, Christian Rattaz a passé son enfance dans la campagne du canton de Vaud et du Valais, où sa curiosité pour les arts en général a toujours été grande. A l’âge de 20 ans, il s’est formé aux techniques de peintures décoratives d’abord au Tessin, puis à Paris où il a obtenu un diplôme de peintre en décors, ainsi qu’un prix, auprès de l’Institut Supérieur de peinture décorative. Depuis, il manie les feuilles d’or, les pigments et les couleurs, afin de créer ou restaurer toutes sortes de décors.

A côté de son métier de peintre en décors, il peint pour lui-même. Il a été primé à Florence au prix “Premio” entre 2010 et 2013. Depuis, il a eu la chance d’exposer en Suisse, mais aussi à l’étranger, à Abu Dhabi et à New York.

Depuis la naissance de ses enfants, il a commencé à s’intéresser au plaisir qu’ont les enfants de peindre sans aucune contrainte et c’est ainsi tout naturellement qu’il s’est intéressé au “Jeu de Peindre” pratiqué par Arno Stern à Paris. Il a suivi sa formation de praticien/servant du “Jeu de Peindre” en 2019 et il a aménagé spécialement ses locaux pour offrir un espace dédié à ce jeu.